Who gets a Premier League winners’ medal for Manchester City?

Manchester City are Premier League champions – but which players will receive a winners’ medal?

A third title triumph in seven years was confirmed when Manchester United’s 1-0 defeat at home to West Brom left City with an unassailable lead at the top.

City will still harbour hopes of breaking Chelsea’s points record of 95 – and with Pep Guardiola’s side currently on 87 with five games remaining, the 100-point barrier could yet be broken.

Here are a look at the finer details of City’s title triumph.

When is the trophy presentation?

There is currently no confirmation of when the trophy presentation will be, though teams have traditionally done so on their final home game of the season where possible.

City’s final league match at the Etihad Stadium is on the penultimate weekend – against Huddersfield on May 6 (live on Sky Sports Premier League) – while they travel to Southampton for their final game on May 13.

Who will lift the trophy?

The honour of lifting the trophy typically falls to the winning captain. That means Vincent Kompany will raise it aloft for the third time in seven seasons. Only John Terry (five) and Roy Keane (four) have lifted the trophy more times as captain since the competition’s inception in 1992-93.

Who gets a winners’ medal?

You need to have played five Premier League games for the champions to be eligible for a winners’ medal. However, City will be given 40 commemorative medals in total, so once those players who have qualified for a medal have received theirs, the club can decide which members of the coaching staff, officials and other players also receive one.

With five league games to go, here’s a list of appearances made by Man City players this season:

  • Ederson – 33
  • Kevin De Bruyne – 33
  • Nicolas Otamendi – 32
  • Bernardo Silva – 31
  • Fernandinho – 30
  • Kyle Walker – 30
  • Raheem Sterling – 29
  • Leroy Sane – 28
  • David Silva – 27
  • Sergio Aguero – 25
  • Ilkay Gundogan – 25
  • Gabriel Jesus – 24
  • Danilo – 19
  • Fabian Delph – 18
  • John Stones – 16
  • Vincent Kompany – 15
  • Oleksandr Zinchenko – 7
  • Yaya Toure – 7
  • Aymeric Laporte – 5
  • Benjamin Mendy – 4
  • Brahim Diaz – 3
  • Phil Foden – 3
  • Claudio Bravo – 1

Will Man City receive pre-game guards of honour?

The tradition is not compulsory but at the discretion of the champions’ opponents.