Was Chelsea striker Alvaro Morata wrongly denied a late equaliser against Manchester United?

Were Chelsea wrongly denied a late equaliser?

Alvaro Morata was denied a late equaliser as Chelsea fell 2-1 to Manchester United – but was the striker offside?

The flag came to United’s rescue at Old Trafford on Sunday, with Morata’s strike into the far corner chalked off when he was deemed to be in an offside position.

Replays showed it was a tight call, and having watched his side slip behind in the top-four race, Chelsea head coach Conte told Sky Sports that he believes the time has come to introduce the Video Assistant Referee to the Premier League, having seen

“This type of situation can change the final result,” he said. “For this reason I am very positive over VAR, especially here in England. During the game there are a lot of situations where it is important to have a lot super check. We need to have the new system to help the referees and avoid big mistakes.”

But is Conte right to feel aggrieved? Watch the video above to see the decision