Tiger Woods and Ernie Els named 2019 Presidents Cup captains

Tiger Woods and Ernie Els have been named as the Presidents Cup captains for the 2019 contest in Australia.

Woods will take charge of Team USA at Royal Melbourne Golf Club from December 9-15, while Els skippers the International side at the venue where they claimed their only Presidents Cup victory in 1998.

The pair have both made eight Presidents Cup appearances as players and acted as assistant captain’s to Steve Stricker and Nick Price in 2017, where Team USA won 19-11 in New Jersey.

“This is a huge honour for me,” Woods said on Tuesday ahead of the Arnold Palmer Invitational. “This is something I’ve always wanted to do, I’ve always wanted to be a captain, and I’m very fortunate to have been given this opportunity.”

Woods acted as a vice-captain to Davis Love III for the 2016 Ryder Cup and will hold the role again for Jim Furyk at Le Golf National later this year, despite the former world No 1 still hoping to qualify for the team as a player.

The two players featured in the most dramatic finale in Presidents Cup history in 2003, where the contest finished a tie when the pair could not be separated after play-off holes in fading light.

“The Presidents Cup has provided me with many of the best memories of my career,” Els said. “To be named captain of the team is an incredible honour.”

The Presidents Cup is a biennial contest that has been played since 1994, with Team USA winning ten of the previous 12 contents.