Scotland name unchanged team for Calcutta Cup clash with England

Gregor Townsend has named an unchanged starting XV for Scotland’s Calcutta Cup clash with England at Murrayfield.

After a Round 1 loss at the Principality Stadium against Wales, Round 2 saw Townsend’s s side deliver a 32-26 victory over France.

Greig Laidlaw scored 22 of their points and the ASM Clermont Auvergne scrum-half will once again form a starting half-back partnership with Finn Russell.

Last year’s Six Nations Player of the Championship, Stuart Hogg, takes his place at full-back with Tommy Seymour and Sean Maitland completing the back-three unit. Pete Horne and Huw Jones will combine in midfield.

Scotland’s pack contains four Edinburgh Rugby forwards including prop Simon Berghan, hooker Stuart McInally, lock Grant Gilchrist and back-row Hamish Watson.

Gordon Reid completes the front row trio alongside Berghan and McInally while Gilchrist will combine with Glasgow Warriors’ Jonny Gray in the engine room.

Captain John Barclay and vice-captain Ryan Wilson complete Scotland’s back-row alongside Watson.

There are three changes to Townsend’s bench with fit-again prop Willem Nel and lock Tim Swinson poised for their first involvements in this Six Nations Championship.

Nick Grigg, fresh from his man of the match performance for Glasgow Warriors in the Guinness PRO14, is the only change among the replacement backs.

Eddie Jones names his England side for Saturday’s encounter at 9.15am on Thursday.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Pete Horne, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 1 Gordon Reid, 2 Stuart McInally, 3 Simon Berghan, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 5 Jonny Gray, 6 John Barclay (c), 7 Hamish Watson, 8 Ryan Wilson.

Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Jamie Bhatti, 18 Willem Nel, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 David Denton, 21 Ali Price, 22 Nick Grigg, 23 Blair Kinghorn.