Phil Mickelson calls two-shot penalty on himself at the Greenbrier

1:06

Phil Mickelson received a two-shot penalty for the second tournament running at the Greenbrier

Phil Mickelson was handed a two-shot penalty for the second successive tournament after a bizarre incident at the Greenbrier.

Three weeks on from the Mickelson being penalised for intentionally putting a moving ball at the US Open, the five-time major champion caused further controversy during the final round in West Virginia.

Mickelson got off to a poor start, missing from 10 feet to save par at the first and failing to get up-and-down from a bunker at the fourth before getting embroiled in another unwanted incident at the seventh.

The 47-year-old tapped down the fescue in front of the tee box before firing his tee shot on to the fairway, breaching Rule 13-2 which states a player can’t improve his line of play.

PGA Tour Golf

July 9, 2018, 8:00pm

Live on

Get Sky Sports Get a Sky Sports pass

Mickelson immediately realised his mistake and reported himself to a rules official, which resulted in him receiving a two-stroke penalty and carding a double-bogey six.

Click on the video above to see Mickelson’s moment of madness!

Source.