Nathan Hughes only change for England in Six Nations

Eddie Jones has made one change to his England XV to face Scotland on Saturday, as Wasps No 8 Nathan Hughes replaces Sam Simmonds.

Elsewhere, the pack is as it was against Wales last time out with a frontrow of Mako Vunipola, captain Dylan Hartley – who moves to become the second most capped England international of all time in the process – and Dan Cole.

Among the replacements, Joe Marler returns in place of Alec Hepburn following his suspension.

Joe Launchbury will earn his 50th cap as he starts in the second row alongside Maro Itoje, with Courtney Lawes once again named to start on the blindside and Chris Robsaw at openside flanker.

In the backs, George Ford and Danny Care form the half-back pairing again, while Owen Farrell maintains his place at inside-centre despite failing to train fully on Tuesday.

Jonathan Joseph holds off the challenge of Ben Te’o to start at outside-centre, while the back-three of Mike Brown, Anthony Watson and Jonny May is unchanged,

“We are really excited about this game and we will need to be very tough and relentless in our defence to keep the pressure on this Scottish team,” England head coach Jones said.

“They are renowned for their attack so we will need to put pressure on them, create opportunities through our defence for our attack, and convert those opportunities to points.

“Our preparation over the last two weeks has been important in that it has allowed us to regenerate the players, improve the fitness of some and to get a clear understanding on how we will play this weekend.

“Nathan Hughes has worked hard on his fitness. I’ve never seen him in better physical condition, so we are looking forward to him playing. Nathan has a key role in defence and in us gaining momentum in attack.”

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Jonny May, 10 George Ford, 9 Danny Care, 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Dylan Hartley, 3 Dan Cole, 4 Joe Launchbury, 5 Maro Itoje, 6 Courtney Lawes, 7 Chris Robshaw, 8 Nathan Hughes.

Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Harry Williams, 19 George Kruis, 20 Sam Underhill, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Ben Te’o, 23 Jack Nowell.