Monaco GP: How the grid lines up

Daniel Ricciardo will start the Monaco GP on pole but team-mate Max Verstappen is set to be in the final grid slot after being unable to take part in qualifying.

Ricciardo smashed the Monte Carlo street circuit’s lap record for the fifth session this weekend to seal pole ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton.

But Verstappen took no part in the qualifying hour after his heavy Practice Three crash left Red Bull needing to change his gearbox.

Red Bull will have to apply for Verstappen to take part in the race, but that should be a formality given the Dutchman had been second fastest in every practice session.

Elsewhere Romain Grosjean drops from 15th to 18th on the grid as he serves the three-place grid penalty he received for triggering the opening lap crash at the Spanish GP.

Provisional Monaco GP grid
1. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull
2. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
3. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
4. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
5. Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes
6. Esteban Ocon, Force India
7. Fernando Alonso, McLaren
8. Carlos Sainz, Renault
9. Sergio Perez, Force India
10. Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso
11. Nico Hulkenberg, Renault
12. Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren
13. Sergey Sirotkin, Williams
14. Charles Leclerc, Sauber
15. Brendon Hartley, Toro Rosso
16. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber
17. Lance Stroll, Williams
18. Romain Grosjean, Haas
19. Kevin Magnussen, Haas
20. Max Verstappen, Red Bull

The crown jewel in the F1 calendar returns and you can watch the Monaco GP on Sky Sports F1 and Sky One on Sunday. Get Sky Sports F1.