Michael Maguire names seven uncapped New Zealand players to face England

England will come up against a host of new names when they face New Zealand in Colorado after Michael Maguire named an inexperienced side.

Following a series of big-name absentees, new Kiwi coach Maguire has included seven uncapped players in his 19-man squad for the historic international at Denver’s Mile High stadium.

The newcomers include wingers Ken Maumalo and Jamayne Isaako, centre Esan Marsters, front rowers Leeson Ah Mau and Herman Ese’ese, hooker Slade Griffin and second rower Raymond Faitala-Mariner.

The services of Samoan internationals Ah Mau, Maumalo and Ese’ese, who were all in the team that lost 30-10 to England in a Test match in Sydney 13 months ago, have been acquired.

Faitala-Mariner has also represented Samoa while Marsters has played for the Cook Islands.

“I’m excited for each of them and for everyone included for the first major rugby league international ever played in the United States,” said the former Wigan and South Sydney boss.

“We have a group of players here who have all been in great form so far this season and totally deserve this chance.

“What has really struck home is just how passionate the players have been when talking to them about playing for the Kiwis and about this Test. They’re busting to be involved.”

New Zealand squad in full:

L Ah Mau (St George Illawarra), N Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne), H Ese’ese (Newcastle), R Faitala-Mariner (Canterbury Bulldogs), J Fisher-Harris (Penrith), S Griffin (Newcastle), P Hiku (NZ Warriors), J Isaako (Brisbane), J Kahu (Brisbane), I Liu (Sydney Roosters), I Luke (NZ Warriors), T Maire Martin (North Queensland), E Marster (Wests Tigers), Ken Maumalo (NZ Warriors), K Nikorima (Brisbane), J Tapine (Canberra), M Taupau (Manly), J Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters), D Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith).