Man City boss Pep Guardiola named LMA Manager of the Year

Pep Guardiola was named LMA Manager of the Year award on Tuesday night

Pep Guardiola has been voted LMA Manager of the Year after steering Man City to the title in a record-breaking season.

Guardiola built on last year’s third place by guiding City to the top-flight crown as they became the first side in Premier League history to rack up 100 points.

After finishing the season with a 1-0 win at Southampton, City also secured a record 32 wins in one campaign.

The Spaniard was on a six-man shortlist, beating Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Sean Dyche (Burnley), Nuno Espirito Santo (Wolves), Neil Warnock (Cardiff) and John Coleman (Accrington Stanley).

Man City boss Pep Guardiola discusses on a MNF special how he thinks Raheem Sterling and Leroy Sane can improve

Espirito Santo won Championship manager of the year, Shrewsbury’s Paul Hurst scooped the League One prize and Coleman won the League Two trophy.

Emma Hayes was named the FA Women’s Super League 1 manager of the year.

It was Guardiola’s second trophy of the night after winning the LMA Premier League Manager of the Year award.

“All the other managers deserve this. They had an amazing season. You have to choose one, I was this one,” he said.

“We played good and we are happy for that. Of course, always I think the records are a consequence of our game, our consistency. To make these type of numbers you have to be solid for months, and not just a short period.

“I am at a fantastic club – it is a family. The organisation is excellent. I was at Barcelona and Bayern Munich. Manchester City – I feel at home.

Pep Guardiola had a special gift for Gary Neville on Monday Night Football

“The investment was so important and the quality of our players made the difference. When I was a little boy I always say England was a little bit like a paradise.

“Everybody wants to be here. I want to say thank you to the Premier League for giving me the opportunity to be here, to share with my family, living here in England.

“The last 10 years nobody has won back-to-back so that is the challenge.”