Karolina Pliskova smashed a hole in the umpire’s chair in anger after a contentious line call late in her loss to Maria Sakkari in the second round of the Italian Open.
The sixth seed was tied at 5-5 in the deciding set with her Greek opponent when her smash was called out by a line judge.
Replays showed the ball landed inside the sideline but umpire Marta Mrozinska refused to accept Pliskova’s pleadings to overturn the call.
Pliskova’s twin sister Kristyna, who is also a professional player, subsequently tweeted: “The worst i have ever seen @wta and i hope this lady Marta Mrozinska will never ever judge any match of me or Karolina again #blacklistforever”
Keep up to date with the latest on www.skysports.com/tennis with news, previews, live blogs, reports and expert analysis. On the move? Head to our app for mobile devices and iPad, or follow our Twitter account @SkySportsTennis to join in the conversation.
Never miss the big kick-off or have to deal with interrupted games or low quality streams with a NOW TV Sky Sports Pass. You’ll get exclusive coverage of the Premier League, Sky Bet EFL, EFL Cup and loads more starting from just £7.99. No contract.