Karolina Pliskova fined ‘four-digit amount’ after smashing umpire’s chair in Rome

Karolina Pliskova has been fined a “four-digit amount” for smashing an umpire’s chair in Rome earlier this week.

The world No 5 was furious at a line call in the penultimate game of her defeat to Greek Maria Sakkari at the Internazionali BNL d’Italia. After her smash was called out – and shown on TV replays to be inside the line – Pliskova pleaded with umpire Marta Mrozinska to over-rule but to no avail.

After Sakkari wrapped up victory, Pliskova initially held out her hand to Mrozinska only to withdraw it and smash her racket against the side of the umpire’s chair, creating a sizeable hole.

The WTA does not make its sanctions public, but Pliskova’s fiance and manager Michal Hrdlicka revealed on Twitter both that the 26-year-old had been fined and that she will donate the same amount to charity.

Hrdlicka wrote: “Karolina was fined by the WTA and accepted the fine. She has also decided to send the same amount from her endowment fund for a good cause. It’s a four-digit amount.”

Source.