James Haskell and Joe Marler added to England’s Six Nations squad

James Haskell and Joe Marler have been added to England’s Six Nations squad despite their current suspensions, while Eddie Jones has retained his original 34 players following a training camp in Portugal.

Haskell and Marler will both miss England’s opening two games against Italy and Wales after receiving red cards playing for respective clubs Wasps and Harlequins earlier this month.

Flanker Haskell, who was omitted from Jones’ squad for last year’s autumn internationals, was banned for four weeks for a dangerous tackle on Jamie Roberts in Wasps’ Champions Cup defeat at the Stoop on January 13.

James Haskell was shown a red card after a late tackle on Jamie Roberts in Wasps' Champions Cup clash with Harlequins.

Prop Marler received a six-week ban for striking Sale’s TJ Ioane in the head with his shoulder on January 6.

The incident was Marler’s third disciplinary indiscretion of the season having previously served a three-week ban for striking Wasps lock Will Rowlands in the face with his elbow in October – causing him to miss England’s autumn international against Argentina.

He was also formally reprimanded in September for ripping Haskell’s scrum-cap off and spraying water into the flanker’s face.

Neither Haskell or Marler were involved in the Portugal training camp, but both will be present when the England squad convene on Monday morning at Pennyhill Park.

Chris Robshaw and Mike Brown remain in the squad following injury worries, suggesting they will be fit for the opening game of England’s title defence in Rome on Sunday.

The eight uncapped players – Nathan Earle, Harry Mallinder, Gary Graham, Zach Mercer, Lewis Boyce, Tom Dunn, Alec Hepburn and Marcus Smith – are also retained, with Quins fly-half Smith is still named as an ‘apprentice player’.

England are seeking to make history by becoming the first nation to win three successive Six Nations titles outright.

England’s 36-man 2018 Six Nations squad:

Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Nathan Earle (Saracens), Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Danny Care (Harlequins), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Marcus Smith (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Forwards: Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons), James Haskell (Wasps), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Lewis Boyce (Harlequins), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs).