Hurricane Relief T20 Challenge: All you need to know ahead of Thursday’s fundraiser at Lord’s

Carlos Brathwaite’s Windies will play an ICC World XI captained by England white-ball skipper Eoin Morgan at Lord’s on Thursday night in the Hurricane Relief T20 Challenge.

Here’s all you need to know ahead of the game, which will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Cricket, Mix and Main Event from 5.30pm.

Live International T20 Cricket

May 31, 2018, 5:30pm

Live on

Get Sky Sports Get a Sky Sports pass

Why’s the game being played?

To raise funds to rebuild and restore five major cricketing venues in the Caribbean that were damaged by Hurricanes Irma and Maria in September.

Ronald Webster Park in Anguilla; Windsor Park Stadium in Dominica; A.O. Shirley Recreation Ground in the British Virgin Islands and Carib Lumber Ball Park in St Maarten are all in need of repair.

Money generated from the game at Lord’s will also go towards aiding other community cricket facilities in the Caribbean.

Which players are in action?

Brathwaite – who will hotfoot it to London after playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in Sunday’s IPL final defeat to Chennai Super Kings – will skipper a Windies squad including fellow IPL stars Chris Gayle, Andre Russell and Evin Lewis, as well as veteran batsman Marlon Samuels.

Morgan, meanwhile, will be joined by England team-mate Adil Rashid and Pakistan’s Shahid “Boom Boom” Afridi, while he will also have two teenage leg-spinners at his disposal – Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, who is fresh from taking 21 wickets in the IPL for Sunrisers, and Sandeep Lamichhane of Nepal, who snared five in three games for Mumbai Indians.

Windies squad: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badree, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams

COACH: Stuart Law

ROW squad: Eoin Morgan (England, captain), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Dinesh Karthik (India), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Shoaib Malik (Pakistan), Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka), Adil Rashid (England), Mohammad Shami (India), Luke Ronchi (New Zealand)

COACH: Andy Flower

Where can I purchase tickets?

Some restricted view seats remain available. Just head to for more information.

Who’s there for Sky Sports?

Ian Ward will present our coverage in the Pod, with Rob Key, Isa Guha, Mel Jones and former New Zealand seamer Simon Doull also part of our commentary team. Nasser Hussain will be there, too – he will have a roving reporter role on the outfield, catching up with the players between balls and gaining an insight into their methods and mind-sets.