Eoin Morgan in England ODI squad for Scotland and Australia matches despite fractured finger

England captain Eoin Morgan has been named in the ODI squad for matches against Scotland and Australia despite recently fracturing his finger.

Morgan sustained the injury to the ring finger on his right hand while fielding during Middlesex’s Royal London One-Day Cup clash with Somerset on Sunday.

He was due to skipper the ICC World XI squad against the Windies at Lord’s on Thursday, but was forced to withdraw from the T20 match which is looking to raise funds to restore five major Caribbean cricketing venues that suffered hurricane damage last year.

Morgan features in England’s 13-man squad for the ODI against Scotland in Edinburgh on Sunday, June 10, with Jos Buttler rested on the recommendation of Morgan and coach Trevor Bayliss.

Sam Billings will replace him on that occasion, but Buttler will return as part of a 14-man squad for the five-match series against Australia, which starts at the Oval on Wednesday, June 13.

Fast bowler Liam Plunkett comes in to replace Craig Overton, while Tom Curran returns for the Australia series with Billings dropping out.

England will play in Scotland for the first time since May 2014, when they defeated the hosts by 39 runs in Aberdeen.

Currently ranked number one in the ODI World Rankings, England defeated Australia 4-1 in a five-match series back in January.

England ODI squad versus Scotland

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain, Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham)

England ODI squad versus Australia

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain, Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid(Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham)

England’s ODI Fixtures

Scotland v England, Sunday, June 10, The Grange, Edinburgh (11am BST)

1st ODI, England v Australia, Wednesday, June 13, The Kia Oval, London (1pm BST)

2nd ODI, England v Australia, Saturday, June 16, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (11am BST)

3rd ODI, England v Australia, Tuesday, June 19, Trent Bridge, Nottingham (2pm BST)

4th ODI, England v Australia, Thursday, June 21, Emirates Riverside, Chester-le-Street (2pm BST)

5th ODI, England v Australia, Sunday, June 25, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester (11am BST)