England U21s name squad for Toulon Tournament

England U21 boss Aidy Boothroyd has named his 20-man squad for the annual Toulon Tournament.

The Young Lions head to France in search a third successive win, following their victories in 2016 and 2017.

Bournemouth midfielder Lewis Cook has been named as part of the squad, despite being placed on the standby list for upcoming World Cup in Russia.

Sky Sports News understands Cook will train with the U21s and travel with the squad to France next week. However, he will be called back into the senior side if needed by Three Lions boss Gareth Southgate.

Swansea striker Tammy Abraham and Everton midfielder Tom Davies have also been included, while Leeds full-back Tom Pearce and Leicester City midfielder Harvey Barnes are among a number of players to receive their first call-up to the U21 squad.

“The Toulon Tournament is one that we are all looking forward to and we’ll be playing some really good and tough global opposition,” said Boothroyd.

“As the tournament rules only allow players born in 1997 and younger, it means that we have the chance to look at some of our players from the U20s and see how they develop in this group.

“Everything we do is focused on next summer’s Euros and qualification, so we will use our time in France to look at different systems and use players in different positions. It is also a great chance to replicate a major tournament environment and schedule.

“Ultimately we want to win every game and will be looking for that from the squad on and off the pitch.”

England take on China in their opening match on May 26, before facing Mexico and Qatar in their remaining Group A games.

England U21 squad for Toulon Tournament

Goalkeepers: Aaron Ramsdale (AFC Bournemouth), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Jake Clarke-Salter (Chelsea), Jay Dasilva (Chelsea), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough), Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Ezri Konsa (Charlton Athletic), Tom Pearce (Leeds United), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Harvey Barnes (Leicester City), Lewis Cook (AFC Bournemouth), Tom Davies (Everton), Kieran Dowell (Everton), Ovie Ejaria (Liverpool), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Adam Armstrong (Newcastle United), Edward Nketiah (Arsenal), Lukas Nmecha (Manchester City)