England Roses head coach Tracey Neville names strong squad for Commonwealth Games

Head coach Tracey Neville has named a strong England Roses netball squad for the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in Australia.

Captain Ama Agbeze will lead an experienced squad containing Geva Mentor, who will represent England at her fifth Commonwealth Games, Jade Clarke, Eboni Beckford-Chambers and Jo Harten.

The Roses finished in fourth place at the 2014 event in Glasgow and have won three bronze medals since the sport was introduced to the Games in 1998.

The netballers head into the Games on the back of some of the best results in the team’s history with victories over South Africa and New Zealand helping them to second place in January’s Quad Series, their best finish in the prestigious event.

Neville said “I think over the current international calendar all players stepped up in performance and there were some tough decisions made in selection. The 12 athletes selected offer us versatility, strength in particular court areas and units, and a wealth of experience with players who can lead the team from the front.”

England captain Agbeze is “relishing the challenge” of taking on the very best teams in order to achieve their ultimate goal of gold.

“The Commonwealth Games is a pinnacle event in the netball calendar; with all the top teams in the world in attendance. Our team have been steadily building to this point and we aim to return England’s best result since netball’s inclusion in the Games of Kuala Lumpur in 1998,” said Northern Stars’ ace Agbeze.

“We understand that this will be no mean feat, with the Games being in Australia; with its close proximity to New Zealand, both the number one and two ranked countries will have plenty of support on the ground. It is an exciting opportunity and we are relishing the challenge.”

England have been drawn in Pool B alongside New Zealand, Malawi, Wales, Scotland and Uganda.

England netball squad for 2018 Commonwealth Games Name Club Commonwealth Games experience Ama Agbeze Northern Stars (New Zealand) Melbourne 2006 – Bronze Glasgow 2014 – 4th Eboni Beckford-Chambers Team Bath Dehli 2010 – Bronze Glasgow 2014 Jade Clarke Wasps Netball Melbourne 2006 – Bronze Dehli 2010 – Bronze Glasgow 2014 – 4th Beth Cobden Loughborough Lightning N/A Kadeen Corbin Team Bath Glasgow 2014 – 4th Jodie Gibson Severn Stars N/A Serena Guthrie GIANTS Netball (Australia) Glasgow 2014 – 4th Jo Harten GIANTS Netball (Australia) Dehli 2010 – Bronze Glasgow 2014 – 4th Natalie Haythornthwaite Wasps Netball N/A Helen Housby NSW Swifts (Australia) Glasgow 2014 – 4th Geva Mentor Sunshine Coast Lightning (Australia) Manchester 2002 – 4th Melbourne 2006 – Bronze Dehli 2010 – Bronze Glasgow 2014 – 4th Chelsea Pitman Adelaide Thunderbirds (Australia) N/A

We will be back for more Vitality Netball Superleague festivities when Manchester Thunder take on UWS Sirens on Monday, February 19 from 6.45pm on Sky Sports Action & Sky Sports Mix.

Follow the 2018 Superleague season with us on Sky Sports and through our website skysports.com/Netball with news, previews, reports and expert analysis throughout the season. And also our app for mobile devices and iPad, or follow our Twitter account @SkyNetball – #BelieveTheHype