Carabao Cup first-round draw set for Vietnam on Friday

Vietnam will host the draw for the first round of next season’s Carabao Cup, the EFL has announced.

It is the second successive year the draw has been held abroad, after the 2017 draw for the Carabao Cup’s opening round was staged in Bangkok.

A technical hitch affected last year’s draw but that has not put the EFL off sending Steve McManaman, Louis Saha and Dennis Wise to Ho Chi Minh City for Friday’s draw.

Seventy EFL clubs will feature in the draw, which will see teams drawn in northern and southern sections for ties to be played in the week commencing August 13.

West Brom will be included, while Championship newcomers Stoke and Swansea will join the competition in round two alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

EFL chief executive Shaun Harvey said: “A principle aim of our partnership with Carabao has always been to promote the competition internationally, taking high-profile activities such as the competition draws overseas to support the EFL’s international growth strategy and raise awareness of the competition in Carabao’s key territories.

“There is no requirement for us to take draws overseas, but there is an absolute commitment to building the value of our competition outside the UK and the market in Vietnam should help the EFL and Carabao meet our shared ambitions.”

Thai energy drinks firm Carabao, sponsors of the League Cup on a three-year deal, took the draw to Bangkok last summer, but an on-screen graphic showed Charlton playing twice and other clubs given the wrong opponents.

The EFL apologised for the errors and subsequently took the 2017 third-round draw to Beijing, China, with the event taking place at 04.15BST.

The quarter-final draw in London also proved slightly problematic, with the event delayed, before a pre-recorded video of the draw was distributed.

The EFL last week announced there would be no extra-time in the competition next season, with matches level after 90 minutes going straight to a penalty shoot-out.

Manchester City are the holders, having beaten Arsenal in the final at Wembley in February.